On the 11th July 1921 an area of land covering just over 12 acres stretching from Bramshall Road to the North Staffordshire Railway Line was bought by Mr Charles Henry Elkes for £999. He asked the town to accept as a recreation ground. As a successful local businessman, he stated how few opportunities there had been for boys of his generation to use recreation facilities.
On August 7th 1923 the land was vested in the Uttoxeter Urban District Council on the understanding that it be used for a public recreation ground and be supported, improved and maintained as such.
Bramshall Road Park situated on the western edge of Uttoxeter is the principal town park and retains much of its original 1920’s layout.
Bramshall Road Park links into Oldfield’s Park and Hockley Road which contains features such as Picknall Brook where you can see kingfishers darting backwards and forwards, wild flowers, a small areas of woodland planting and rugby pitches.
The principal entrance to Bramshall Road Park can be accessed from Bramshall Road.
The linear nature of the park as a developed path network providing a reasonably long but leisurely walk. The different sections of the park maintain interest for those wishing to explore.