# EAST STAFFORDSHIRE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of East Staffordshire Borough Council held in the Council Chamber at the Town Hall, Burton upon Trent on Monday 23<sup>rd</sup> March 2020

#### Present:

Councillor C Wileman (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillors G A Allen Mrs B Bra A Clarke

Mrs B Brady A Clarke D Florence-Jukes S P Gaskin D Goodfellow Mrs V Gould P Hudson Mrs J A Killoran S McGarry S McKiernan M Metcalfe G Raybould C Sylvester

#### **Officers Present:**

The Head of Service (Mark Rizk), the Monitoring Officer, the Corporate and Commercial Manager and the Principal Democratic Services Officer.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs P L Ackroyd, Mrs B Ashcroft, E W R Barker, L Beech, K J Builth, A A Chaudhry, R A Faulkner, M T Fitzpatrick, D F Fletcher, R G W Grosvenor, G Hall, H Hall, S A Hussain, Mrs J Jones, G H Lamb, Ms A J Legg, B G Peters, S Sankey, M Shrive, Mrs B Toon, P Walker and C V Whittaker.

## 76/20 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest at the commencement of the meeting.

## 77/20 **MINUTES**

The minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 24<sup>th</sup> February 2020 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Mayor.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
G A Allen		
Mrs B Brady		
A Clarke		
D Florence-Jukes		

S P Gaskin	
D Goodfellow	
Mrs V Gould	
P Hudson	
Mrs J A Killoran	
S McGarry	
S McKiernan	
M Metcalfe	
G Raybould	
C Sylvester	
C Wileman	

### 78/20 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Leader thanked all Councillors for attending the meeting under the current circumstances.

#### 79/20 URGENT BUSINESS

In accordance with Rule 12. The Mayor indicated that he had received an urgent motion on notice.

The motion had been received from Councillor D Goodfellow and read as follows:

"The Council is due to approve the Constitution for the coming year in May 2020. In light of the current COVID19 pandemic, the Annual Council Meeting will be postponed until after May 2020 and Council is therefore recommended to resolve:-

- 1. That time for approval of the Constitution for 2020 2021 be extended to the next meeting of Full Council ; and
- That in the meantime the Constitution adopted by Council at its meeting on 17<sup>th</sup> May 2019, as amended, remain in force until the date of the next meeting of Full Council."

The Mayor indicated that he had considered the motion to be urgent and it would therefore be dealt with at this meeting.

The motion was duly moved and seconded.

The Mayor invited Council to debate the motion under Rule 16 (Rules of debate).

In accordance with the voting, the Mayor declared the motion carried.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
G A Allen		
Mrs B Brady		

A Clarke	
D Florence-Jukes	
S P Gaskin	
D Goodfellow	
Mrs V Gould	
P Hudson	
Mrs J A Killoran	
S McGarry	
S McKiernan	
M Metcalfe	
G Raybould	
C Sylvester	
C Wileman	

### 80/20 LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER'S STATEMENTS

The following Councillors submitted their Annual Statements to Council:-

Leader of the Council	Councillor D Goodfellow
Environment and Housing	Councillor R A Faulkner
Leisure, Culture and Tourism	Councillor E W R Barker
Regeneration and Planning Policy	Councillor G A Allen
Regulatory and Community Support	Councillor B G Peters

The statements were received and noted.

#### NOTED.

#### 81/20 CORPORATE PLAN REFRESH 2020/21

The Leader of the Council presented the Corporate Plan refresh 2020/21, a copy of which had been circulated.

He moved the following motion which had been duly seconded

"That the Corporate Plan Refresh 2020/21 be accepted;

That Corporate Plan target CR01 (Successful PFCC Election as PARO with all constituent authorities submitting returns by 11 May) be deleted;

That Corporate Plan target dates for CR15 (Rolleston Neighbourhood Plan Made), EHW21 (Selective Licensing Designation Approved) and EHW25 (Consider the declaration of a Climate Emergency and implement and monitor a Climate Change action plan-including an annual update) be amended to "to be confirmed";"

In accordance with the voting, the Mayor declared the motion carried.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
G A Allen		D Florence-Jukes
Mrs B Brady		S McKiernan
A Clarke		
S P Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V Gould		
P Hudson		
Mrs J A Killoran		
S McGarry		
M Metcalfe		
G Raybould		
C Sylvester		
C Wileman		

## 82/20 ANNUAL REPORTS OF CHAIRMEN OF SCRUTINY COMMITTEES

The following Councillors submitted their Annual Scrutiny Committee reports to the Council:-

Scrutiny (Audit and Value for Money Council Services) Committee	Councillor P Hudson
Scrutiny (Community Regeneration, Environment and Health and Well-Being) Committee	Councillor A Clarke

The reports were received and noted.

### NOTED

### 83/20 **QUESTIONS**

No questions had been received prior to the meeting pursuant to Rule 18.