#### EAST STAFFORDSHIRE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of East Staffordshire Borough Council held in a virtual environment on Monday 1<sup>st</sup> March 2021.

#### Present:

Councillor C Wileman (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillors Mrs P L Ackroyd H Hall
(Deputy Mayor) P Hudson
G A Allen S A Hussain
Mrs B Ashcroft Mrs J Jones
E W R Barker Mrs J A Killoran

G Lamb L Beech Mrs B Brady Ms A J Legg K J Builth S McGarry S McKiernan A A Chaudhry A Clarke M Metcalfe R A Faulkner **B G Peters** M T Fitzpatrick G Raybould D F Fletcher S Sankey D Florence-Jukes M Shrive C Sylvester S P Gaskin Mrs B Toon D Goodfellow P Walker Mrs V Gould R G W Grosvenor C V Whittaker

G Hall

The Chief Executive, the Heads of Service (Sal Khan and Mark Rizk), the Monitoring Officer, the Corporate and Commercial Manager, the Principal Democratic Services Officer and the Senior Democratic Services Officer

**Officers Present:** 

## 120/21 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Councillor Chaudhry declared a pecuniary interest in item 6 (with specific reference to the Deputy Leader (Community and Regulatory Services) Statement) as he was a Selective Licence holder. Councillor D Goodfellow declared a pecuniary interest in item 6 (with specific reference to the Deputy Leader (Community and Regulatory Services) Statement) as a close family member owned a property in the Selective Licensing area. Both Councillors left the meeting during discussion of this part of item 6 only and did not partake in any discussion thereon.

### 121/21 **MINUTES**

The minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 22<sup>nd</sup> February 2021 were approved as a correct record.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Mrs P L Ackroyd		
G Allen		
Mrs B Ashcroft		
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
Mrs B Brady		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
D Florence-Jukes		
S P Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
R G W Grosvenor		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
S A Hussain		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		
Ms A J Legg		
S McGarry		
S McKiernan		
M Metcalfe		
B G Peters		
G Raybould		
S Sankey		
M Shrive		
C Sylvester		
Mrs B Toon		
P Walker		
C V Whittaker		
C D Wileman		

# 122/21 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor informed Council of the sad passing of Alderman and former Mayor Tom Dawn on Saturday 27<sup>th</sup> February 2021 and that of his wife, former Mayoress, Mrs Pauline Dawn earlier that month.

# 123/21 **URGENT BUSINESS**

No urgent business had been received prior to the meeting.

# 124/21 **LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADERS' STATEMENTS**

The following Councillors submitted their Annual Statements to Council:-

Leader of the Council	Councillor D Goodfellow
Community and Regulatory Services	Councillor B G Peters
Environment and Housing	Councillor R A Faulkner
Leisure, Amenities and Tourism	Councillor Mrs B Ashcroft
Regeneration and Planning Policy	Councillor G A Allen

During the presentation and discussion of the Deputy Leader (Community and Regulatory Services) Statement only, Councillors A A Chaudhry and D Goodfellow left the meeting and did not participate in any discussion on this part of the item. They re-joined the meeting prior to the commencement of the presentation from the Deputy Leader (Environment and Housing).

During the presentation of the Deputy Leader (Regeneration and Planning Policy) Statement, as three hours had elapsed since the commencement of the meeting, a motion to extend the meeting was duly moved and seconded. In accordance with the voting the Mayor declared the motion carried.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Councillor		
Mrs P L Ackroyd		
G Allen		
Mrs B Ashcroft		
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
Mrs B Brady		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
D Florence-Jukes		
S P Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
R G W Grosvenor		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
S A Hussain		

Mrs J Jones	
Mrs J A Killoran	
G Lamb	
Ms A J Legg	
S McGarry	
S McKiernan	
M Metcalfe	
B G Peters	
G Raybould	
S Sankey	
M Shrive	
C Sylvester	
Mrs B Toon	
P Walker	
C V Whittaker	
C D Wileman	

The statements were received and noted.

# NOTED.

# 125/21 **CORPORATE PLAN REFRESH 2021/22**

The Leader of the Council presented the Corporate Plan refresh 2021/22, a copy of which had been circulated.

# Resolved:

That the Corporate Plan Refresh 2021/22 be approved.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Mrs P L Ackroyd	K J Builth	
G Allen	A A Chaudhry	
Mrs B Ashcroft	M T Fitzpatrick	
E W R Barker	D F Fletcher	
L Beech	D Florence-Jukes	
Mrs B Brady	R G W Grosvenor	
A Clarke	H Hall	
R A Faulkner	S A Hussain	
S P Gaskin	Ms A J Legg	
D Goodfellow	S McKiernan	
Mrs V J Gould	M Shrive	
G Hall	P Walker	
P Hudson		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		

S McGarry	
M Metcalfe	
B G Peters	
G Raybould	
S Sankey	
C Sylvester	
Mrs B Toon	
C V Whittaker	
C Wileman	

# 126/21 ANNUAL REPORTS OF CHAIRMEN OF SCRUTINY COMMITTEES

The following Councillors submitted their Annual Scrutiny Committee reports to the Council:-

Scrutiny (Audit and Value for Money Council	Councillor P Hudson
Services) Committee	
Scrutiny (Community Regeneration,	Councillor A Clarke
Environment and Health and Well-Being)	
Committee	

The reports were received and noted.

# NOTED

# 127/21 **QUESTIONS**

There were no questions submitted prior to the meeting.

Mayor