EAST STAFFORDSHIRE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of the twenty ninth Annual Meeting of East Staffordshire Borough Council held in a virtual environment on Monday 26th April 2021.

Present:

Councillor C Wileman (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillors Mrs P L Ackroyd G Hall (Deputy Mayor) H Hall

G A Allen P Hudson

Mrs B Ashcroft S A Hussain

E W R Barker Mrs J Jones

L Beech Mrs J A Killoran

Mrs B Brady G Lamb Ms A J Legg K J Builth A A Chaudhry S McGarry S McKiernan A Clarke R A Faulkner M Metcalfe M T Fitzpatrick B G Peters D F Fletcher S Sankey D Florence-Jukes M Shrive S P Gaskin C Sylvester Mrs B Toon D Goodfellow C V Whittaker Mrs V Gould

Officers Present:

The Chief Executive, the Heads of Service (Sal Khan and Mark Rizk), the Monitoring Officer, the Corporate and Commercial Manager, the Principal Democratic Services Officer and the Senior Democratic Services Officer

An apology for absence was received from Councillor P Walker.

R G W Grosvenor

At the commencement of the meeting all remained silent as a mark of respect at the recent passing of HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

128/21 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations at the commencement of the meeting.

129/21 **MINUTES**

The minutes of the meeting of the Borough Council held on 1st March 2021 were approved as a correct record.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR	THOSE VOTING	THOSE ABSTAINING
THE MOTION Councillor	AGAINST	
Mrs P L Ackroyd		
G Allen		
Mrs B Ashcroft		
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
D Florence-Jukes		
S Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
R G W Grosvenor		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		
Ms A J Legg		
S McGarry		
S McKiernan		
M Metcalfe		
B G Peters		
S Sankey		
M Shrive		
C Sylvester		
Mrs B Toon		
C V Whittaker		
C Wileman		

130/21 **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

The Mayor announced that Councillors D F Fletcher and K J Builth had both been elected to the Council for a period of 35 years and Councillor M T Fitzpatrick had been elected for a period of 30 years this year. They would be presented with a certificate in recognition of their service to the District and Borough Council at the next face to face meeting of the Council.

131/21 MOTION ON NOTICE

It was proposed by Councillor D Goodfellow and seconded by Councillor S Sankey

"That Council resolves that all appointments continue to run until the June Ordinary Council Meeting, that the Constitution be adopted at the June meeting and in the

meantime the Constitution remain as adopted in December; and that dates of remaining Ordinary Council Meetings for the year be approved at the June Ordinary Meeting"

The Mayor invited Council to debate the motion under Rule 16 (Rules of debate).

In accordance with the voting, the Mayor declared the motion carried.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Mrs P L Ackroyd	D Florence-Jukes	
G Allen	R G W Grosvenor	
Mrs B Ashcroft	M Shrive	
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
S Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		
Ms A J Legg		
S McGarry		
S McKiernan		
M Metcalfe		
B G Peters		
S Sankey		
C Sylvester		
Mrs B Toon		
C V Whittaker		
C Wileman		

132/21 URGENT BUSINESS

No urgent business had been received prior to the meeting.

At this juncture Councillor Mrs B Brady and S A Hussain joined the meeting.

133/21 **QUESTIONS**

There were no questions submitted prior to the meeting.

134/21 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Mrs J Jones and seconded by Councillor Mrs B Toon and

Resolved:

That Councillor Mrs P L Ackroyd be elected the twenty ninth Mayor of the Borough of East Staffordshire until the Annual Meeting in May 2022.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows

HOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Mrs P L Ackroyd	D Florence-Jukes	
G Allen	M Shrive	
Mrs B Ashcroft	IVI GIIIIVG	
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
Mrs B Brady		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
S Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
R G W Grosvenor		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
S A Hussain		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		
Ms A J Legg		
S McGarry		
S McKiernan		
M Metcalfe		
B G Peters		
S Sankey		
C Sylvester		
Mrs B Toon		
C V Whittaker		
C Wileman		

The Mayor gave her speech of thanks and intentions during her year of office and announced that Mr Michael Ackroyd would be her Consort; Reverend David Collier would be her Chaplain and Lance Corporal Lily George would be her cadet.

135/21 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor G Allen and seconded by Councillor C Sylvester and

Resolved:

That Councillor P Hudson be appointed the Deputy Mayor of the Borough of East Staffordshire until the Annual Meeting in May 2022.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Mrs P L Ackroyd	D Florence-Jukes	
G Allen	R G W Grosvenor	
Mrs B Ashcroft	M Shrive	
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
Mrs B Brady		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
S Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
S A Hussain		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		
Ms A J Legg		
S McGarry		
S McKiernan		
M Metcalfe		
B G Peters		
S Sankey		
C Sylvester		
Mrs B Toon		
C V Whittaker		
C Wileman		

136/21 VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

It was moved by Councillor D Goodfellow, duly seconded and

Resolved:

That we, the Council, record our sincere appreciation of the excellent manner in which Councillor Colin Wileman has carried out his duties as the Mayor of the Borough of East Staffordshire over the last two years, and we acknowledge the interest he has shown in the welfare of all parts of the Borough.

We would particularly acknowledge his work with voluntary, charitable and sporting bodies.

We also wish to place on record our thanks to Councillor Colin Wileman for representing the Council at approximately 159 events during his time in office.

We also thank the Mayoress Ms Jean Hiatt, for the help and support she has so readily given to him during his time in office.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows

THOSE VOTING FOR THE MOTION Councillor	THOSE VOTING AGAINST	THOSE ABSTAINING
Mrs P L Ackroyd	D Florence-Jukes	
G Allen	R G W Grosvenor	
Mrs B Ashcroft	M Shrive	
E W R Barker		
L Beech		
Mrs B Brady		
K J Builth		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
R A Faulkner		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D Fletcher		
S Gaskin		
D Goodfellow		
Mrs V J Gould		
G Hall		
H Hall		
P Hudson		
S A Hussain		
Mrs J Jones		
Mrs J A Killoran		
G Lamb		
Ms A J Legg		
S McGarry		
S McKiernan		
M Metcalfe		

B G Peters	
S Sankey	
C Sylvester	
Mrs B Toon	
C V Whittaker	
C Wileman	

Councillor C Wileman replied suitably.

Mayor