EAST STAFFORDSHIRE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of East Staffordshire Borough Council held in the Main Hall at the Town Hall, Burton upon Trent on Monday 2nd October 2023.

Present:

Councillor S A Hussain (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillors M Ackrovd M Huckerby A Afsar Mrs J Jones G Allen P Krupski Mrs B Ashcroft Z Krupski R Lock A Bailev L Beech A Mansfield A A Chaudhry B G Peters A Clarke M Shrive M T Fitzpatrick M Slater D F Fletcher S Slater S P Gaskin C Smedley Mrs V J Gould K Smith BEM T Hadley L Walker R Hawkins P Walker M Holton C D Wileman

Officers Present:

The Chief Executive, the Head of Corporate and Environment Services, the Head of Regeneration and Development, the Deputy Monitoring Officer, the Interim Chief Financial Officer, the Corporate and Commercial Manager and the Democratic Services Officer.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors L Bullock, P Hudson, Ms A J Legg, S McKiernan (Deputy Mayor), S Sankey and C V Whittaker.

52/23 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations of interest at the commencement of the meeting.

53/23 **URGENT BUSINESS**

There was no urgent business for consideration at the meeting.

54/23 HONORARY FREEMEN OF THE BOROUGH

It was moved by Councillor M T Fitzpatrick and seconded by Councillor P Walker and

Resolved unanimously:

That in recognition and appreciation of the eminent and distinguished service rendered by him to the Borough and its citizens the Council do hereby admit the Windrush Generation to be an Honorary Freemen of the Borough of East Staffordshire.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR	THOSE VOTING	THOSE ABSTAINING
THE MOTION	AGAINST	
Councillor	Councillor	Councillor
M Ackroyd		
A Afsar		
G Allen		
Mrs B Ashcroft		
A Bailey		
L Beech		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D F Fletcher		
S P Gaskin		
Mrs V J Gould		
T Hadley		
R Hawkins		
M Holton		
M Huckerby		
S A Hussain		
Mrs J Jones		
P Krupski		
Z Krupski		
R Lock		
A Mansfield		
B G Peters		
M Shrive		
M Slater		
S Slater		
C Smedley		
K Smith BEM		
L Walker		
P Walker		
C D Wileman		

It was moved by Councillor M T Fitzpatrick, seconded by Councillor P Walker and

Resolved unanimously:

That the Mayor present to representatives of the Windrush Generation, an illuminated scroll as Honorary Freeman of the Borough of East Staffordshire.

Voting concerning the above decision was as follows:

THOSE VOTING FOR	THOSE VOTING	THOSE ABSTAINING
THE MOTION	AGAINST	
Councillor	Councillor	Councillor
M Ackroyd		
A Afsar		
G Allen		
Mrs B Ashcroft		
A Bailey		
L Beech		
A A Chaudhry		
A Clarke		
M T Fitzpatrick		
D F Fletcher		
S P Gaskin		
Mrs V J Gould		
T Hadley		
R Hawkins		
M Holton		
M Huckerby		
S A Hussain		
Mrs J Jones		
P Krupski		
Z Krupski		
R Lock		
A Mansfield		
B G Peters		
M Shrive		
M Slater		
S Slater		
C Smedley		
K Smith BEM		
L Walker		
P Walker		
C D Wileman		

Representatives read aloud the following Freedom Declaration:

"We do solemnly and sincerely declare that we will be subject and obedient to all the good order and customs of this Borough. We will not consent to, or do anything whereby this Borough or the freedom thereof may be endangered. If we happen to know of any conspiracy or mischief against this Borough we will, with all convenient speed, declare the same to the Mayor and the Chief Executive; and we do further declare that in all things we will conduct ourselves as true and loyal freemen ought to do".

The Mayor presented an illuminated scroll to representatives of the Windrush Generation.

The Mayor suspended standing orders, to enable representatives of the Windrush Generation to respond accordingly.