Sports Scholarship Award Evening

Friday 16th March saw the 31st East Staffordshire Sports Scholarship Awards take place at Hilton Hotel St George Park. During the evening 70 elite sports performers across 19 different sports from within East Staffordshire were awarded with a Sports Scholarship for their outstanding achievements during 2017. All recipients have achieved regional standard or above in their Sport. All the Scholarship Award winners received a grant, and a free training pass for all East Staffordshire Borough Council Leisure facilities.

Cllr Colin Whittaker said: “The local sports people of East Staffordshire have provided us with another fantastic 12 months of sporting achievements. These annual awards rightly allow us the ideal opportunity to celebrate and honour the various achievements of these individuals, teams and clubs.

“The grants distributed amounted to over £8,500. This was only made possible thanks to the continued support of our sponsors; East Staffordshire Borough Council, East Staffordshire Sports Council, Hilton Hotel at St Georges Park, Consolidated Charity of Burton upon Trent, East Staffordshire School Sports Partnership, Steve & Karen Gardner, Big Wave Media, Trent Trophies & Red Door Studios.

The evening saw the Hilton Hotel Sports Person of the Year Awarded to GB Track Cyclist and current Maddison World Champion Emily Nelson.

Also receiving awards on the night were:

Rebecca Bedford, Para Badminton and SS6 World Mixed Doubles Champion – Consolidated Charity of Burton upon Trent Disabled Performer of the Year.

Mia Sherriff, Burton Athletics Club Youth Committee Chair - East Staffordshire Sports Partnership Young Volunteers of the Year.

Dove Valley Junior League Swim Squad, Finished second in the league to earn promotion in the Junior League – ‘Ted Smith’ Junior Team of the Year in pursuit of excellence.

Francesca George, England Rounder’s Senior Team member – Steve & Karen Gardner Junior Sports Person of the Year.

Sally Clarke, After School Sports Administrator for William Shrewsbury - East Staffordshire Sports Council Administrator of the Year.

Lis Slinn & Tracey Dolman, Washlands Women Runners Run Leaders - Big Wave Media Sports Coach of the Year.

Burton Rugby Club 1st XV, Currently sit top of the League and have reached the county cup final, – Senior Team of the Year.

John Oram, Trent Rowing Club Stalwart – ‘Vic Roebuck’ Memorial Trophy for Sports Un-Sung Hero’s.

2018-03-29 00:00:00