Home > Es News > Honour Conferred on East Staffordshire’s New Alderman

Honour Conferred on East Staffordshire’s New Alderman

Four former Borough Councillors were granted the title of Honorary Alderman at a special meeting of East Staffordshire Borough Council on Monday, January 13th.

Michael Bowering, Ron Clarke, Julian Mott and Michael Rodgers are all set to be awarded the honour following the main council meeting in the Town Hall, Burton.

Between them the former Councillors have over 70 years of service, sitting on a number and wide range of committees and sub-committees, and the group also boasts three former Mayors and a former Leader of the Council.

As well as having their names on the Honorary Alderman Role, the new Aldermen will be granted a number of rights and privileges reserved for serving councillors including receiving copies of Council agendas and an invitation to sit in on full Council meetings, use of the Members’ Room at the Town Hall and a full Civic Funeral, including the flag above the Town Hall flying at half-mast.

2020-01-14 00:00:00